Old 12-02-2009, 09:32 PM   #1  
Madeleine

S/C/G: sw187/cw152/gw140

Height: 5 ft 3.5 in or 163 cm

Angry back to 3fc, new to diabetes

Hi chicks: I have been coming to 3fc for weight loss support, and had some success before my life was derailed with my parents health problems. These are ongoing, but a bit less acute now, and the effects of the stress this year are showing on me.
One of the reasons I originally wanted to lose weight and be in better shape is that I am at risk for diabetes with family history and personal history. (second baby over 9 pounds, possible undiagnosed gestational diabetes) and my weight gain over the years. I spilled sugar in my urine about 16 months ago during a physical, and did a 75 g gtt then, with normal results except hypoglycemia on the 2 hr.
The last few weeks, I have been more tired, thirsty and sleeping poorly, since I have to wake up to use the bathroom so many times a night.
SO, I checked my blood sugar with a glucometer. ( I am a midwife, use it for work) IT was 7 mmol as a fasting sugar. That by itself is pretty much diagnostic, but did a whole 75 gram gtt today, doing glucometer checks with the blood draws. The fasting was 7.2, and the 1 hour 11.2. The 2 hour was normal at 6.5. (sorry, don't know about conversions for this to make sense to americans, but 5.3 is top of normal fasting bgl)
I will review the results with my doctor in 2 weeks. In the meantime, I am taking this seriously, realizing that I haven't been eating well, that I MUST do better, now and for the rest of my life, so I can keep to the quality of life I enjoy now.
I plan to come back to 3fc regularly and WORK at getting a handle on this.
I look forward to support here and on other threads, and to having the benefits of your collective wisdom specifically with dealing with diabetes.

thanks
fatmad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2009, 07:08 AM   #2  
Come on Spring!

S/C/G: 232/170/150

Height: 5'0" on a tall day