Exercise! Love it or hate it, let's motivate each other to just DO IT!

Closed Thread

Old 05-18-2002, 10:09 PM   #1  

Default I get my summer vacation soon..

Had a question about exercise. I am a school teacher with 2 small kids of my own, with little time to walk. I love to power walk to lose weight. My summer vacation is coming up and I get 3 months to powerwalk in the mornings. My question is how important is dieting when exercising? The last time I tried to lose weight, I ate fewer calories and lost all energy to walk. At this point, dieting seems a waste of my time. I don't mind eating less junk food, but if I am powerwalking 1 or more hours a day, how important is calorie restriction? Can exercise be enough? Or at least the most important part of my weight lose challenge? I am looking forward to my vacation months very much and want to give it all I got, no mistakes this time.

Thanks!
Heidi
160/158/135
Old 05-19-2002, 07:06 PM   #2  
Just one bite at a time

S/C/G: 210/210/146

Height: 5'5"

You should most definitely add in more cals to compensate for your increased energy expenditure. Even though it sounds odd you have to keep your cals UP!

Try adding 500kcals to your dietary allowance on the days you walk. This should cover you for about 1.5 hours of power walking. This means that if you want to restrict your kcals by 20% to reduce weight at a controlled rate (about 2lbs a week) then you should add the extra 500kcals to your restricted amount.

For example, my daily kcal allowance is just short of 1400kcals. On the days I teach an exercise class I add 250 kcals to my diet. When I do an hours worth of exercise for myself I add 400kcals to my allowance. By doing this I make sure my daily kcals intake stays above 1200, so's my body doesn't go into the 'starvation' mode.