Old 10-28-2008, 01:35 PM   #1  

Default New to Medifast

Hi everyone!

I am new to Medifast and have been lurking around this forum for some time now.
I was all signed up and scheduled to have lap band surgery on 9/25/08 and as part of that surgical program my doctor required his patients to be put on Medifast for about four weeks. I went ahead and purchased one weeks worth of Medifast and a few days later decided to post pone my sugery for various reasons.
That being said, I still had possession of this one weeks worth of Medifast shakes and have been putting off beginning the plan. Well, yesterday I took the plunge and mixed the shakes, drank three of them, and had one meal which consisted of a green salad with chicken, dressing was olive oil and lemon. Today I got up and have already consumed two shakes.
I feel pretty hungry but I really want to give this a very strong effort to see if it's a plan that I can handle. If I find that I can handle it, I will go ahead and purchase some shakes, puddings etc...
Has anyone ever followed the plan for lets say, the week days and went off the plan for the weekends in order to continue their social life? I'm not sure I can do this because we go out to dinner and have a very active social life on the weekends. What about having a glass of wine on the weekends? Does anyone have advice to add, based on experience?

Thank you!
AmyK811 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2008, 01:40 PM   #2  

S/C/G: 181/181/135

Height: 5'7

I think that if you know you can't do the complete life style change and live off the shakes for the rest of your life, then why try it? You have to make a life change. Drinking shakes isn't it. Nor is giving up wind!!! OK, maybe I like my wine too! But seriously, I think you have to do a life change. I'm not there yet either.
chunky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2008, 03:08 PM   #3  
Let's go LEAN!

S/C/G: 185/ticker/140

Height: 5'3"