Old 10-10-2008, 07:28 PM   #1  
Candace

S/C/G: 200/200/150

Height: 5'7"

Default Mental hunger, as opposed to physical hunger

So I notice that I don't really have to be physically hungry to want food. If I'm working on homework (I'm a grad student) or doing housework, or even playing with the dogs... as soon as I finish I find I want food. Also, when I do eat, I often find that I love the taste of food so much that I keep eating, even if I know that what I've already eaten should be enough. It's like... I love food. My husband has this problem too, only much worse. I've tried eating apples to curb my appetite (I heard that worked), but it didn't really help. Any ideas or suggestions?
sadfatgirl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2008, 07:32 PM   #2  

S/C/G: 210/199/150

Height: 5'6

We have the same problem at my house.
I have been trying to just keep busy.I never eat because I am hungry I eat because its there.
My husband stays up half the night eating.He DOESN"T try to stay busy.
I think we try to eat our anxieties.
cartp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2008, 07:39 PM   #3  
Candace

S/C/G: 200/200/150

I can completely relate. I spent the day out of town a few days ago, and on the way home, I was so tired. I was so tired, I was nearly falling asleep at the wheel. I wasn't hungry, but I pulled into a Dairy Queen and got a cheeseburger and onion rings. Oddly enough, I felt better. Also, I tend to view food as a treat, and being on a diet seems like torture. <sigh>
sadfatgirl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2008, 07:43 PM   #4  

S/C/G: 237/165.8/130

Height: 5'4"

I describe this as "wanting to eat". It doesn't mean I'm hungry; I just want to eat.

The thing is that you have to figure out WHY you want to eat. And what is it that would make you feel satisfied.

I know for me, just the fact of recognizing that I wasn't hungry, that I was eating out of habit, helped a lot.

PhotoChick is offline   Reply With Quote