Exercise! Love it or hate it, let's motivate each other to just DO IT!

Old 04-28-2008, 04:52 PM   #1  

S/C/G: 154/125/115

Height: 5'0"

Default Am I eating too little & exercising too much?

Newbie here!

You are all so knowledgeable and I’m ready to tap into that knowledge and ask your opinion/advice...

Without going into a huge back-round story, in a nutshell:

I’ve been working out off and for YEARS. In 2005 I got pretty serious about wanting to lose weight and I started to log my food intake into FitDay. I was eating about 1400-1700 calories any given weekday, though my weekends were another story – shame to say that it was more. It wasn't unusal for me to binge on Sundays

My exercise consisted of doing about 30 – 45 minutes on the elliptical 3x/week and weights 2x/week for about 30-45 minutes. When I first started this plan I lost 3lbs in one month. After 8-months of working out/eating like this, I did not make any additional progress.

In 2006 I decided to switch it up a little and start doing more weights and focus less on cardio. My days at the gym at this point were around 3x/week. I would log calories here and there but didn’t keep it up consistently since I had an idea of the calories I was taking in. Though I do see now that a big mistake I was making was assuming the cardio machines gave an accurate number on calories burned.

No body changes come mid 2006. I was discouraged to say the least.