Old 03-11-2008, 03:04 PM   #1  

S/C/G: Jan. 2008-173/ticker/135

Height: 5'5''

Default Never counted calories before

I am new to this site and have never counted calories before in my life. Since coming to this site I have learned of two other sites - Fitday.com and Dailyplate.com. I have looked at both of them and I am not sure which one to go with and use. Do you have any recommendations? Do you have a preference of one over the other? And why? Any input would be appreciated since I am new to this.
skinny4me is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2008, 03:21 PM   #2  
The Radiant One

S/C/G: 250/142/135

Height: 5'2"

I have used both (free versions only) and I have come to prefer Daily Plate.

There are already tons of foods in the database (brand names) and you can create meals that you eat often. Makes it easier to add.
I don't like the calorie deficit thing, though - where it tells you how many calories you have left to eat. It adds exercise calories to that, and there is no way to keep that from happening.
fiberlover is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2008, 04:50 PM   #3  
Anne

S/C/G: 407/358-Dec2007/tracker/125

Height: 5'4"

I think you'll find that some will depend a lot on your type of eating. If you buy a lot of brand name/pre-made meals then the Daily Plate is probably the best. I use FitDay, but the purchased home version. I find it easy to use, but most of what I eat is made from scratch, so it's easier. Either will work fine for you, however, watch the exercise calories on thedailyplate - I find them high. I just checked, and an hour of walking (2mph) using the same current weight gives the following:

FitDay - 222 calories
TDP - 509 calories

Probably neither are correct, but if using TDP don't let that number convince you it's okay to eat more.
RealCdn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2008, 09:39 PM   #4  
TBL Red Team Member

S/C/G: 132/129/120

Height: 5'4.5"