UK Fat Chicks Meet dieters in your area, discuss weight and food issues unique to the UK.

Old 02-13-2008, 05:08 PM   #1  

S/C/G: 174/125

Height: 5'4

Default Could this be the way to go?

Hi, I am really nervous about joining something like this. Something I have never done before. However, I realized that it is always good to find support and meet new friends I have had a weight problem for a long time. I really have to consistently stay on myself. I was doing really good counting calories and working out 5-6 days a week toward the end of November. However, then my was diagnosed with lung cancer and I quickly fell into all my bad habits once again. I normally do try to eat pretty healthy, but working in an elementary school it seems you are already surrounded by yummy treats! Over the past few months I have gained at least 15 pounds of the weight I lost back. I have tried to count calories again, but it just did not seem to be working. Finally, a girl I worked with inspired me with her story of using weight watchers. I have been doing it the past three days, it is easier than counting calories, but I have not decided as a working college student if this is something I new to truly invest a lot of time and money into. But I know that 174 on my 5'4 frame is not good, and does not seem to be getting any better. I was wondering if anyone out there could share their opinions of weight watchers or any other plans that seem to be working well. Thank you so much, cant wait to meet some new friends.
Esparkles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2008, 10:18 PM   #2  
Slow and steady

S/C/G: 229/-/170 ish

Height: 5' 5"

Hi esparkles, welcome to 3FC Sounds like you have the motivation to lose, is your reent gain due to chemo at all?

WW is a great programme to follow, you don't really have to invest a great deal of time to do it, it's one of the best things I've followed in the past and had great results.

I'm trying low carb at the moment and it's harder than WW...