Closed Thread

Old 11-05-2007, 05:09 PM   #1  

Default Stranger to your board in need of advice

Hi everyone! I need advice about whether WW is for me, so I came to the experts!

I have been on LAWL/Pure Weight Loss for 2 1/2 years. I've been maintaining for the past 8 months after losing 97 lbs. (I'm now 5 lbs above my goal -- the max allowed in Maintenance.) I had done WW briefly a few years ago and it worked, but I just didn't stick with it.

My question:
I'm VERY nervous about gaining this back. I think LAWL worked for me because I'm the type of person who NEEDS restrictions to lose weight. Maintenance on LAWL is less restrictive than the weight loss phase, but I still LOVE carbs. I was somehow able to cut back on them enough to lose and maintain this long, but sometimes I just need (?want) more than is allowed. I'm wondering if doing WW at this point would help me to lose 7-10 lbs AND keep it off a little more easily.

I DO NOT want to (or plan to) abuse/take advantage of the way WW should work. In other words, I don't plan to use all my points for carbs; I know that doesn't work (unfortunately). I think I can incorporate what I've learned at LAWL (eating from ALL food groups EVERYDAY, especially fruits, veggies and proteins). I THINK I'm strong enough to make smarter food choices when given more freedom.

I know it's probably better to stick with one program, but I'm very nervous about gaining weight when I go over my allotted carbs for the day.

Has anyone had experience with this or does anyone have any suggestions? TIA (Sorry it's a little long.)
Old 11-05-2007, 08:37 PM   #2  

S/C/G: 202/191/155

Height: 5 FT- 5 INCHES