Living Maintenance general maintenance topics and discussions

Old 09-28-2007, 08:27 AM   #1  
Pretty harmless really...

S/C/G: Maintaining 142-148

Height: 5 ft 8.5" athlete who can give a punch & certainly take one too! :)

Default Maintaining but thinking to lose a few more....

I have been maintaining for 6 months now and holding between 145-150. Today I weighed in at 142, but now I decided I want to lose a few more pounds and get to 140 and stay there instead!!! Is this normal? I will be going on holiday for several weeks and I do not want to restrict my foods TOTALLY while on vacation, so I feel if I weigh a bit less before I go, I feel it will be ok if I GAIN a bit on my holiday and this way I won't beat myself up over it if I do gain. Can anybody else relate to my thinking? I go on holiday but once a year and I work so hard at my job that I think I deserve to SPLURGE on food and drinks once a year..., so I am thinking if I go 5 pounds lower before I leave, I will not feel guilty for any gains when I return.... Make sense to any of you?
evilwomaniamshe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2007, 08:59 AM   #2  

Height: 5'7"

Why not? I work with a guy who does this all the time before travel and also before the holidays. If it is just a weight loss pad against vacation, personally, I'd probably wait until I got back because a lot of people do enough extra walking and such on vacation to offset the extra calories and come back nearly where they started.

Of course it is also normal to decide that you want to lose a couple more pounds, or for that matter to be happy a couple pounds up. Maintenance is such a bad word, because it is still about ups and downs, just much smaller ups and downs.

Anne
AnneWonders is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2007, 08:59 AM   #3  
kaw

S/C/G: 159-ish/145/140-ish

Height: 5' 8.75"