Old 07-25-2007, 03:03 AM   #1  
Crabalocker Fishwife

S/C/G: 323/ticker/145

Height: 5'8"

Unhappy Want to join, but nervous.

It would be nice to go to a meeting because I'll probably need some help getting through a weight-loss journey, and I'm definitely a binge eater, emotional eater, etc. It's a really vicious cycle, and I feel so out of control. But I'm only 17 and I feel like I'd be a little out of place... and my worst fear is, what if I recognize someone there, or they recognize me? I get anxious thinking about it, but I really need help. Suggestions? (I'm going to see a therapist on August 7th to help with my depression, too.)
taliee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2007, 04:43 AM   #2  

S/C/G: 166/166/130

Height: 5ft1inch

Default hello and welcome

Hi Taliee,

Welcome to this board. Just wanted to say hi – and that I can relate to your hesitation in terms of anonymity etc. I’m new to OA recovery but have a long happy history in AA, and I used to be terrified of meeting people I knew. And it happened – met this lovely man, friend of my Dad’s and I nearly collapsed with embarrassment.

But it was the best thing ever because he gave me such a warm welcome and helped me settle into the group and told me I was very brave to be dealing with my alcohol issues. He also reminded me that we were both in the ‘rooms’ for the same reason!!

Regarding age, the meeting I go to here in Dublin has a cross-section of people ranging from approximately 18 right up to the 50’s and every age in between!
I think it’s truly wonderful that you have such deep awareness of your food issues at such a young age. I wish you every good blessing on your journey and good luck with the therapist.
searsha is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2007, 05:03 PM   #3  

S/C/G: 252.2/220/200 1st goal

Height: 5'4"

Hi Tailee,