Exercise! Love it or hate it, let's motivate each other to just DO IT!

Old 06-21-2007, 03:58 PM   #1  
Skinny Minnie in Training

S/C/G: 219/see ticker/149

Height: 5'5"

Default Ideas for SNEAKING in some exercise

I am a single mom to a very active 2-year-old boy. I am also a research professional, and I spend roughly 50+ hours/week (work & home) seated in front of a computer. My day goes roughly like this:

6:30 -- wake up & get ready
7:00 -- go help DS get ready
7:30 -- drive 7 miles to daycare
8:00 -- go to work (frequent meetings with collaborators/clients over lunch)
5:45 -- leave to pick up DS
6:10 -- arrive home, change clothes, reconnect with DS and start dinner
7:00 -- dinner's over -- it's bathtime
7:30 -- play/story time and wind-down
8:00 -- DS bedtime
10:00 -- my bedtime

I know I could get up earlier and move around abit. I could also try to carve out a little time in the evening for a walk around the neighborhood (and maybe get DS one of those trikes on a stick so mama can get a little out of breath). I could also get up and get moving to some workout dvds after little one's bedtime, but frankly, I'm so pooped and there's so much to do (clean up dinner, throw in a batch of laundry, pack lunches, maybe read, catch up with family/friends on the phone, or finish up some work-work) between 8-10PM. I don't want to stay up any later, and I don't want to make a lot of noise in the morning and have DS getting up any earlier. My first start is trying to get out for a walk 3 days/week and next is to try out some of those "10-minute" dvds (I know, you can't do much in 10 minutes, but I have to start somewhere.) I also spend 2 weekends/month visiting my elderly mother a couple of hours away. I park far away from work & the grocery and stuff. I take the stairs whenever possible. I'm trying. So there's the situation...now...do any of you have any insights as to what I can be doing and when I can fit it in?
queenjane is offline   Reply With Quote