Exercise! Love it or hate it, let's motivate each other to just DO IT!

Old 06-18-2007, 03:58 PM   #1  
I'm lovin my scale

Default Team in Training

I've been jogging very consistently now for several months and am thinking about participating in a half marathon. I've been jogging 5mi 3x a week for several weeks now and want all of that sweat to have more purpose than a smaller number on the scale and on the size tags in my pants. I've heard a lot about Team in Training and am thinking about signing up. Any Suggestions? what about getting a book and training on my own?
imsexydamnit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2007, 11:03 PM   #2  
Ilene the Bean

I'm not familiar with Team in Training...Sorry ... But we do have a Cool Runner's thread where I'm sure you'd get a lot of suggestions from our seasonned marathon runners... I, just like to run 5-8ks 3x/week....
Ilene is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2007, 11:47 AM   #3  

S/C/G: 157/133.4/130

Height: 5'5"

Team in Training totally depends on your team. . .I started marathon training with them several years ago. I wasn't in a small town, but apparently was the only person in my city to sign up. . .so they ended up having a coach drive down every other weekend just to work with me, and then I was supposed to drive to St. Louis (2 hours) if I wanted to work with the "team" for my other runs. . .plus all the nutrition seminars, etc. were in St. Louis. If you live somewhere that has a big group doing it, I think it could be very fun & motivating.

The other thing is the fundraising aspect - you have to fundraise A LOT for some of the runs. They make it sound easy, and maybe for some people was, but for me, it wasn't.

I ended up not completing the program - I had a hip injury, but really, it was more just feeling discouraged about the fundraising and the lack of the support/companionship that I had envisioned.
Su-Bee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2007, 03:42 PM   #4  

S/C/G: 167/126/117