Old 06-12-2007, 05:47 AM   #1  

Default Quick-on-the Go Meals

Hi all. You all are such experts that I have to put this question out here.

I am a teacher (not many days left ) But summer school will start also. I am usually not home until after 7 because I go and work out and then I have a seven year old that had ballet, gymnastics etc...(she has a recital coming up and we are ALL stressed , maybe I will post some pics) Are there any quick dinner meals that I can pack in the morning to take with me? I know that eating late can cause more weight gain and I am not trying to go down that road. Thanks in advance guys
jdutchess is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2007, 10:46 AM   #2  
LAWL Salt Police

It would be easy to say "make a sandwich" but trying to limit starches in the evening makes that hard...

I've gotten a lot of milage off the turkey meatloaf I made last week while Liz and the kids were out of town. Sure, it's got two slices worth of lite bread crumbs in it, but when you spread that out over a few days, the starch content is really minimal. It packs well and reheats quickly.. And frankly, it's pretty good cold too... plenty of finger veggies like carrot and celery sticks make things easier too..

I've been toying with the idea of doing OP "Hamburger Helper" meals as well.. How hard could it be to boil up some penne or rotini pasta, brown some turkey or lean beef and then add my own blend of spices to make a sauce along with low sodium diced tomatoes? I'd have to have a way to heat it up as eating that kind of meal cold kinda turns me off, but heck, it can't be that hard, right?
Dan2112 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2007, 12:49 PM   #3  
Val

I'm the queen of doing "Hambuger Helper" type meals. They are actually very easy, and as long as you're aware of the size of portions that you are using, very easy to make OP. Basic formula is meat (ground chicken or beef), starch (rice or pasta) and vegies.