Old 05-06-2007, 09:24 PM   #1  
I'm doing it this time!

S/C/G: 189/175/145

Height: 5' 4"

Default Food choices....not good at this!

I'm counting calories because it's the easiest for me. I'm not good at making food choices, so I need to be able to eat just about anything, within reason and in my count range. With work and kids, I don't have a lot of time to plan.

I'm now stressing about getting all I need in a day....protein, fiber, calcium, it's all so confusing! I get to the end of the day and I worry I didn't eat something I was supposed to in the recommended amounts. Yesterday I don't think I ate any protein. Today I know I'm not getting fiber. I just can't work it all in everyday! Am I stressing too much? Can I just take a vitamin supplement and relax? I look at the food pyramid and it looks like a huge mountain I just can't climb. There is no way I can plan my meals and snacks to mirrior that diagram. I'm just not good at making choices!

Do you guys make all the right choices everyday and get everything recommended in your eating plan or are you like me and just do the best you can? I feel like a failure most days because everyone here seems to have it all together and can make healthy choices with ease.

Heidi
doIlookfat? is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2007, 10:15 PM   #2  
Just Yr Everyday Chick

S/C/G: Lost 50 lbs, regained some

Height: 5'3"

Hey DoILook,

Some of us may seem to have it together, but it's from long practice. You'll get better as you go.

First of all, are you using a computerized calorie tracker? This is the easiest way for many folks to keep count of their foods. FitDay is a popular one. Many foods are already in the database, so the program looks things up for you. All you need to do is specify the food and the amount.