Old 03-06-2007, 06:56 AM   #1  

Default busy single mom looking for a healthy relationship with food

Hi guys! Does anyone have any short cut kind of solutions for an overwhelmed mom who is constantly on the go? I think the best place for me to start is cutting out the fast food.

I'm new to this site and still trying to figure things out, so please be patient. I'm new to this whole thing actually. I tend to not ask for help when I need it, so I have a tough time figuring out how to ask when I get the courage to do so. Does that make sense? Anyhow, I thought this would be a good place. I have to do something. My son keeps calling me "biggie" and I just want to cry.

Thanks in advance.
busysinglemom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2007, 07:31 AM   #2  
On my way to 160!

S/C/G: 275/191/160

Height: 5 feet 4 1/2 inches

Hi busysinglemom!

First I want you to give yourself a BIG HUG! Next I want you to take a moment to WRITE DOWN all the things you did for your son just in the last 24 hours. Next I want you to make ANOTHER LIST. This one is a list of the things you did FOR YOURSELF during the last 24 hours.

If you are like most moms, list #2 is WAAAAAAAY shorter than list #1. Am I right?!!!

So, you are doing lots for your son and probably doing tons of house stuff and feeling overwhelmed, right? When you are in this state of being I think it is close to impossible to NOT use food as a comfort! Being busy and stressed ALWAYS put me into "I need to eat this" mode!

Here's what I think will help. Try to buy foods that you can eat a lot of but will help you stay within a good calorie budget for the day. That means lots of fruits and vegetables and fiber. Either get a PUR water purifier to put on your kitchen faucet at home (about $30) OR buy bottled water that tastes good. Drink plenty of it and quit the soda.