Living Maintenance general maintenance topics and discussions

Old 02-22-2007, 08:54 PM   #1  

S/C/G: 261/158/below 160

Height: 5'8" (Dang, I shrank an inch!)

Default Going down (okay, up) in flames

Up until a few weeks ago, I had been maintaining for a couple of months. These last few weeks, I've been experiencing more pain than usual, and feeling just blah in addition. So I've reverted back to previous behavior, and I'm eating my pain, so to speak--it's a comfort tactic that, of course, ends up being uncomfortable. This is something I've had a problem with during this whole weight-loss journey, but lately it's overwhelmed me.

I'd really like to kick this, especially before my weight starts to skyrocket, but I'm at a loss as to how to do it. I'm still exercising 5-6 days per week (45-60 min. cardio, 35 min. or so of weightlifting, and 15-20 min. stretching), but it's hard to keep on going because of the pain. Wednesday I skipped the gym because I was so tired, but I did walk for 30 min. and did some stability ball work. My trainer is lovely, but I don't think she gets the whole comfort-eating issue. If I felt better, I could exercise when I felt like eating, but if I could exercise, then I wouldn't feel like eating, KWIM?

So I guess what I'm wondering is if anyone has any suggestions on what I could do before I eat myself back into plus sizes again?
Sheila53 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2007, 09:49 PM   #2  

S/C/G: 190/140/135

Height: 5'7"

Personally, I would fall back into the structure of full-on "lose weight mode." House completely junk free, menus planned, groceries bought, lunches packed, snacks arranged every day, portions pre-decided and pre-portioned (if possible), eating every 2-3 hours to prevent hunger. I would make sure that the healthy meals I selected were meals I actually liked and looked forward to eating. Keep a food journal where you are accountable, knowing I have to write something down will sometimes keep me from eating it.