Old 12-30-2006, 08:49 PM   #1  

Default Daily Caloric Intake Advice..

Hello Everyone Another newbie here.

I'm sure this question gets asked alot, and I've done alot of reading through all the older threads but still need some clarification.

I joined sparkspeople.com as a way to track my food/exercise. I'm 250 lbs, and stand 5'2. It gave me an amount of 1200-1550 cals per day, and burn at least 570 cals per week thru exercise, to lose 2 pounds per week.

I then read (I know you can't believe everything you read).. http://www.soyouwanna.com/site/syws/...oseweight.html which seemed to have a lot of great info! It used a formula to calculate your daily caloric intake needs to sustain your current weight, assuming you are TOTALLY inactive.. (which pretty much right now, I don't exercise at all)..

This is the formula, using my stats:

AsssssssssBasal Metabolic Rate
sssssssssssBody weight multiplied by 12 (for men) or 11 (for women)
ssssssssss 250 lbs. x 11 = 2750
BsssssssssActivity
sssssssssssOne third body weight multiplied by the number of hours you don't sleep, typically 16 hours
ssssssssss250 lbs. x 1/3 = 83.3 x 16 = 1333.3
DsssssssssRequired Calories
sssssssssssA + B
ssssssssss2750+ 1333.3= 4083.3

It pretty much says I need to eat 4083.3 calories per day with no physical activity to maintain my current weight. So if I eat 500 calories less (about 3583)per day, and burn an additional 500 calories per day in exercise I can lost 2 pounds per week?

1550 and 3583 are very different numbers.. Did I read something wrong? I apologize if this is very confusing, but I'm very confused. I can count the calories on my own and exercise, but I want a good starting point - I was planning on doing the zigzag idea, but I don't want to set myself back by starting at the wrong point. I'd appreciate any help, or a point in the write direction of threads on here that could help.. THANKYOU SO MUCH!

Last edited by fireflynova; 12-30-2006 at 10:32 PM.