Old 10-15-2005, 12:15 AM   #1  

S/C/G: 227/170/130

Height: 5'2

Question What is your strategy?

I'm just getting started with this healthy lifestyle of mine. I know what's bad for me, and what's good for me. I know that WW is wonderful, and once I have an income coming in, I do plan to join. But for now.......I wanted to know from others what a typical day of eating and exercise is like for them.
I get bored with what I'm eating, so maybe you guys could introduce me to something new to eat! I appreciate it!
JazzyNurse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2005, 01:09 AM   #2  

Oh dear...well, to tell the truth I try to eat seven (!!!) times a day. I'm doing WW points, but with a higher minimum (35) so my 'meals' work out to about 300 calories each (counting free veggies). They're about 2 hours apart. I feel much more stable and much more even, eating this often, and it's easier to make healthy choices (because I'm not desperately hungry, and thus not grabbing whatever I can find).

I walk 45-60 minutes most days of the week. I have an active volunteer position (with small children, in a rehabilitation clinic) about 10 hours a week. I try to lift weights (home equipment) a couple of times a week. I try to get out on my bike for a nice long ride at least once a week.

I'm doing this because for a long time I was eating waaaaaaaaaaaaay too little for the size of my body and the activity I was asking it to do (1.5 hours daily at the gym, of fall-over-dead cardio and weights) and my metabolism was all messed up. My body flat-out refused to lose weight. Finally I was convinced to back off and heal it, and through upping my calories and easing up on exercise I'm starting to make progress. Very small progress--8 pounds in 11 weeks--but 8 pounds is better than beating my head against a brick wall!