Maintainer Introductions our stories and photos

Old 05-18-2005, 11:08 AM   #1  

Default another newbie

Hello! I am also new to this stuff. I have come to the site a few times just to get recipes but have never posted anything. I was thrilled to see a section on maintenance! I joined Weight Watchers a year ago (exactly one year and one week to be precise!) The weight came off steadily and I am thrilled with the outcome. (I am just shy of 5' 4" and now weigh between 114-117) Unfortunately the past couple of months I am finding myself totally undisciplined. I know what I need to do but keep blowing it. I think maintenance is tougher because you don't get that reward on the scale each week. My three sisters and a cousin have since joined Weight Watchers and we support each other but they don't understand how hard it is to stay committed. If I whine about my weight creeping up to 122 they threaten bodily harm because they would be content to be 10 pounds over that. They don't understand how scarey it is to think that you might gain the weight back. Hopefully this group can help to get me refocused.

Here's a little back ground information about me. I am 41-years-old and on my second marriage (4 years). I have a 13-year-old son who is autistic (very high functioning) and a 10-year-old daughter who has attention deficite hyperactive disorder. Incase I don't get enough excitement at home, I have been teaching special education for 20 years! I have an adult step-son and two beautiful step-grandchildren.