Living Maintenance general maintenance topics and discussions

Old 11-05-2004, 11:04 PM   #1  

Default What are your most important lessons?

Hi, ONe of the things I love about this site is all you successful losers who have reached or are close to your weight goals. In the course of your losing, what items would you pass along as the most important lessons you learned about losing your weight for those of us who are not 'there' yet?

Jan
jansan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2004, 05:07 AM   #2  
Meg

Great topic, Jan! The most important lesson that I learned about weight loss and maintenance – by far – is that this is FOREVER. The diet is never going to be over and I can never go back to eating and living the way that I used to – unless I want to go back to 257 pounds.

Since I'm a professional dieter , of course I heard ‘this has to be a lifestyle, not a diet’ a million times, but I never really believed it. In my heart of hearts, I was convinced that once the weight was off, I could go back to my comfortable life of eating cookies and reading books and I’d never gain a pound. Reaching goal was the goal and everything after that was happily ever after. Life past goal was kind of vague and soft-focus, but I was convinced that maintaining my weight would be easy and effortless. After all, I’d say to myself, what could be easier than just staying at one weight?

The reality is that life after goal for me looks pretty much the same as the year that I was losing weight. I do the same amount of daily exercise, eat the same foods, weigh and measure, use Fitday, plan ahead, and use all the tips and tricks that I learned while I was losing weight. The only difference is that I may eat 200 or so extra calories a day, not in treats, just maybe an extra apple and bowl of oatmeal. Somewhere in the past 3 ½ years, it did indeed become a lifestyle without me realizing it. I can’t imagine living any other way; I don’t even want to live any other way.