Depression and Weight Issues Have you been diagnosed with depression, are possibly on depression medication, and find it affects your weight loss efforts? Post here for support!

Old 09-12-2003, 11:59 AM   #1  

Default Welbutrin SR

Has anyone experienced weight loss from taking Welbutrin? I was prescribed this for depression, but I have heard it is also prescribed for weight loss and to help quit smoking. My doctor told me that one of the side effects can be appetite suppression.
jdg1574 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2003, 12:14 PM   #2  

Hi jdg and welcome

I have heard of it prescribed for depression and cigarette cessation but not for appetite alone....though I must admit I am not an expert on such matters. What is your story? I don't think that we have met.

Eliz
liz321 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2003, 02:35 PM   #3  
Divine Gal

I take it because it helps to even out my paxil.My dr also said it would give me some energy to help with weight loss.
lynnie24 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2003, 08:17 PM   #4  

Thanks. Eliz, I am new here. You are right, we have not met. I guess I don't have much of a "story". I'm just here for some moral support and advice from people who understand. I don't have a signifigant amount of weight to loose. I'd like to loose about 30-35lbs. I'm 5ft5in and weigh about 160. I am very small framed, so I should probably weigh closer to 130. I don't really care how much I weigh. I just want to feel good again. I've gained about 30 pounds in the last few years. I feel sluggish and tired a lot. I always feel better with less weight on. Besides, I don't feel like I can wear cute clothes well anymore. I started the sugar busters plan this week. Have you done that before? I'm also thinking about joining Curves. I currently walk 7 days a week, but it's not enough anymore. I think I have reached an excercise plateau. I'd love to hear about you. Jenn
jdg1574 is offline   Reply With Quote