South Beach Diet Fat Chicks on the Beach!

Closed Thread

Old 08-25-2004, 11:02 AM   #1  
Working for the Cruise!

Default What Else Have You Tried?

After posting on here for nearly a month I've found myself wondering what other diets you ladies have done. Those of you gals who are nearing the home stretch, I'm so happy for you! I am just curious as to what other diets you've tried....what worked, what didn't, and why? More importantly, what did you learn from them?
Old 08-25-2004, 11:42 AM   #2  
Just Me

S/C/G: 364/--/182

Height: 5'6"

I've tried....
Jenny Craig - learned that it works for a short period of time, but after a while the monotony of food gets to you.
Weight Watchers - learned that I am not very good at counting points/calories
Low fat on my own - learned that doesn't work that well for me
Low carb on my own - learned that I was relying too heavily on processed low carb items
Not eating - learned can lose a lot of weight quickly but hard to maintain

Well i've dieted off and on for at least 20 years (and i'm 29 and basically I've either had a hard time sticking to a diet plan or else that the diet plan wasn't the best for me. I like south beach diet a lot because I feel I am eating healthy and it is something I can stick to.
Old 08-25-2004, 12:54 PM   #3  
Working for the Cruise!

I guess I ought to put my own in here too.

Dr. Gabe Mirkin Diet - High Fiber, High Protein, Good Carbohydrates. Whole Grains, fruits, and veggies. It may sound similiar to SB, but it's very drastic. 3 meals a day, all with main ingredients being vegetables and whole grains (Barley, Brown Rice, etc). No meat allowed, but I added chicken. I lost 60 pounds and was very active, was actually in high school at the time. Gained back 20 since......2 years out now....

What I learned from Mirkin - Whole grains fill you up, make you feel better, and keep you fuller longer. Sugars are the enemy. Partially Hydrogenated Soybean oil is poison. High fructose corn syrup makes me fat.