Old 07-25-2004, 11:12 PM   #1  

S/C/G: (324/238/175) New 310/310/200

Height: 5'5"

Question I'm stuck

I've been posting in journals for about a month, but this is my first time here, I think. I have about 130 lbs. to lose or more and have already lost about 35 since March, but I can't seem to budge past this point-I've been stuck here for about a month, if you don't count the mysterious 8 lbs. I gained and was able to relose in a few weeks.

Has anyone here ever had this problem? Is this just another plateau-I had one 10 lbs ago. I read last night that really obese people will stall after they lose about 10% of their body weight (which fits me now) because their bodies think they are starving and the metabolism slows down to prevent starvation. Well, I have a L---O---N---G way to go before starvation is an issue here!

I've been loosely following South Beach and thinking I should go back to phase 1, where I lost 11 lbs. in 2 weeks-mostly water weight I'm sure. But I get bored with foods, easily it seems. Like the idea of a salad just about turns my stomach now.

I've gotten my exercise routine established-I do weights and aerobics 3-4 times a week.

If anybody has any advice, comments or encouragement, I sue could use some now! Thank you!
merryterry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2004, 11:29 PM   #2  

S/C/G: 274/?/175

Height: 5'8

Merryterry, I think I've come across your journal. I'm glad you're posting! Welcome.

As for the plateau.. I haven't really been at it for long enough, so I'm not sure what to say you. I *do* know there's a lot of trial and error involved. So experiment if you can stand it, and just keep truckin'. It'll come off!
djs06 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2004, 12:54 AM   #3  
if only she'd lose weight

S/C/G: 360/see ticker/180

Height: 5'7

Welcome to the forum!!!
SuchAPrettyFace is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2004, 12:59 AM   #4  
Live for the Moment!

Welcome & Enjoy!
Br00klyn is offline   Reply With Quote