Exercise! Love it or hate it, let's motivate each other to just DO IT!

Old 03-10-2004, 09:44 AM   #1  

Wink Working out before breakfast--pros/cons?

I find that I am most likely to fit working out into my day if I do it first thing in the morning. However, once I have gotten up (7:30), hydrated, eaten breakfast (usually 200-300 calories of protein and complex carbs, like plain nonfat yogurt, Fiber 1, & blueberries), and given breakfast 45(ish) minutes to settle, it's no longer "first thing" and, despite the fact that I'm a graduate student and I set my own schedule, some crisis has likely popped up with work or home that I need to deal with, and then I've lost my momentum.

I know people who work out before breakfast, but I've never tried this. I usually wake up hungry, but of course I know from experience that cardio usually suppresses hunger (until you're done anyway). Is this a good plan, though? Will you burn more/less/different calories if you exercise on a completely empty stomach? Is there a danger of feeling faint (if I'm not normally hypoglycemic)? Women's fitness magazines will tell you that you need food to "fuel" a workout, but I know all too well that I have plenty of stored fuel around my tummy and thighs!

Anyway, if people have had good or bad experiences with working out before breakfast.....

Thanks

Sarah
BellyDancer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2004, 02:36 PM   #2  

I’ve always worked out very early in the morning (5 – 6 a.m.) before eating breakfast. The main reason I’ve done this is that if I eat and then work out, I “feel” that food and sometimes even feel like I’ll regurgitate it from all the movement I’m doing (I don’t mean to be gross, but that’s what it feels like). I don’t have the time to eat & then wait until my food settles because I have to walk my dogs, get ready for work, etc.