Weight and Resistance Training Boost weight loss, and look great!

Old 02-10-2015, 04:55 PM   #1  

S/C/G: 230/230/199

Height: 5' 10.5"

Default Need advice

So I'm trying a different style of weight loss this time and doing a lot more weights that I used to. Squats, etc. free weights, planks. I can't do lunges. I want to be strong as I'm a nurse and it takes just one back injury to ruin a career.
I still do half an hour of cardio 4x a week on average and 1600 to 1700 diet.
I know weights don't really impact weight loss, it's cardio that does...but I'm stalled out and even gained a pound the last few days. I'm stuck at 197, I trying not to focus on the weight too much, my clothes fit a lot better, but considering I have a good 30 lbs I really need to take off, I'm wondering if I should be changing my routine.
Any advice?
nickilaughs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2015, 05:11 PM   #2  

What about some resistance bands exercises? I couldn't believe how much I felt my muscles the next day. I thought it had to be regular weights to get an impact.

Have you looked at any core exercises on demand or youtube? Those are especially important to keep our back/abs strong and supportive.

I'm sure you get a lot of steps in being a nurse and on your feet all day. Maybe change up the cardio that you do 4x a week if it's walking/running?

I've been stalled out before, I know the frustration.
TheLastStraw323 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2015, 08:49 PM   #3  
Trying to be in the 160s

S/C/G: See my siggy ;)

Height: 5'8"

Nice work. I would keep with the weight training. It is hard to bulk up as a lady because you don't have the hormones us guys do. So you will most likely get nicely toned.

I would try a few things.

First, on the diet try to eat more protein and less carbs and (controversial on this forum) less fat, except good fats like omega 3s (fish, nuts etc.). The protein will really help with the muscle toning and you might get some fat loss too.