Whole Foods Lifestyle For discussion of whole foods and more natural diets.

Old 10-03-2014, 03:55 PM   #1  

S/C/G: 296/273/190

Height: 5'10

Question Dieticians Promoting Lowfat/Sugarfree

Hi Everyone,

I'm just starting out, calorie counting using MyFitnessPal. Something that is important to me is moving towards eating whole foods, which for me means taking one step at a time and still using up the stuff I have in the pantry. I've moved from 2% milk to whole milk already, and we're adding more vegetables (pre-cut in trays from costco, but it's a start), and once we run out of white rice (right now we eat white and brown alternately), we'll be moving entirely to brown. I've never eaten white bread, just whole grain.

Anyway, I remember visiting a dietitian last year (I had already moved to whole milk and made a few other changes at that point, not for weight loss, just for general health) and everything she talked about was "buy low fat Greek yogurt" and "switch to skim milk" and "try sugar-free options." And of course I'm sitting there, wanting to argue, but she's a skinny woman with nicer skin than me and who am I to argue with someone who looks like her, right?

I don't think I have THAT many hangups about modern food, but I just really don't want to eat chemicals. I went to the dietitian feeling really happy that someone would help me eat healthier food, and that's just not the feeling I was left with after. I know I have to eat less. I know that. But can't I eat real food, just less of it?

Anyway. Do any of you guys work with a dietitian on your meal plans? If so, did you have trouble with finding one who was respectful of your wish to eat a diet based on whole foods, such as full-fat dairy products, and cutting out artificial sweeteners? Is there any other advice you can give me?

Thanks,

-Fai

Last edited by faiora; 10-03-2014 at 03:57 PM.
faiora is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2014, 10:02 AM   #2  

S/C/G: See ticker