Introductions Introduce yourselves and make new friends!

Closed Thread

Old 01-19-2004, 05:41 PM   #1  

Angry Newbie

Hi--this is a wonderful site, I'm glad I found it. My name's Christine and although I'm 41, this is my first time seriously trying to make a change in my eating habits. I did try Atkins briefly, but couldn't stand it, and I don't even want to talk about The Slim-Fast Episode. I started going to Weight Watchers with a friend 3 weeks ago and was astounded to see the scale hit 198. Having Type 2 diabetes in my family and having been diagnosed with hypoglycemia in the past makes me a very high risk for getting the disease, so I really need to make a change, and fast.
I've lost 8 lbs. so far, which is probably mostly due to giving up my Vanilla Coke addiction. My big challenge is that I really, really dislike exercise. I haven't started doing any yet, but I know I have to. I'd be glad to hear any suggestions!
My goal weight is 135, but I'd be satisified with 140.
Old 01-19-2004, 05:54 PM   #2  

welcome christine. i don't have much time i am headed out for my2 mile walk. this site is awesome. post alot. good luck.
Old 01-21-2004, 11:44 AM   #3  
living, breathing, moving

S/C/G: 230/170/135

Height: 5*5ish

welcome Cristine.. water water water!! lol. i think i have turned into a water addict. when the weather is nice i walk and notice that weight just seems to melt off me. instead of trying a "diet" i just try to eat healthier. and it is working. good luck meeting your goal.
Old 01-22-2004, 09:23 AM   #4  
It is what it is...

Hey Christine - I too am doing WW, I am 30 years old and need to lose alot, I would be real satisfied with 140 right now....at this point though I am just trying to get under 200 - I will be so happy that day....
Just like you I hate exercising and that has been my biggest struggle, I did do it yesterday but that was the first time since before Thanksgiving so you see I am not doing that well at it....ha ha