Old 04-02-2014, 10:42 AM   #1  

S/C/G: 280/see ticker/130

Height: 5'8"

Default Low Carb Options for college lifestyle? Please help!

Hi all,
I'm currently a college student, I live on campus which means no access to a kitchen. I only have access to a fridge, microwave, and eating out. I also have access to the cafeteria meal plan but let's face it, it's natural and cooked fresh every day but.... It's 90% white carbs!!!!!! And it's killing my diet!
I lose best following the insulin resistance diet of linking carbs and protein, but haven't really found a whole lot of variety of options to eat that are dorm-friendly.

Anyone have any suggestions or ideas? Please help!
levoguette is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2014, 10:58 AM   #2  
diamondgeog

A few suggestions. Good and easy low carb foods to have on hand: avocado, coconut oil, eaten straight or in coffee and tea. Macadamia nuts. They seem expensive but I eat so few at a time. You have to embrace fat. Remember is is low carb high fat not low carb high protein.

Start wrapping burgers in lettuce. They taste better anyway. I still have plenty of cheese. Salads are great and those are available.

Remember your appetite will be going down. So something hard to avoid WILL get easier. No cereals for breakfast. Only protein and fat. Gets your brain, body, and mood going and sets your hunger back instead of ramping it up with cereals.

Drinks, teas, water, bubble water, coffee.
Old 04-02-2014, 11:53 AM   #3  

Does your school have a salad bar? Most college eating plans do. Just load up a plate with non-starchy veggies and then add protein- nuts, chicken, fish, turkey, beef, etc. Add olive oil and vinegar or some ranch dressing and you'll be sitting pretty.
Locke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2014, 01:04 PM   #4  

Quote:
Originally Posted by diamondgeog View Post