Goal! Have you reached your goal? Share your success story and celebrate your victory!

Old 03-15-2014, 09:00 PM   #1  
Making it a lifestyle!

Height: 5'9.5"

Default 1 year, 60 lbs gone and truly healthy!

Hello everyone, I'm Chronostasis and I'm a college student.
I'm not at my TRUE goal weight yet, but I'm close and I want to write a quick post to celebrate an anniversary for me.

March 15, 2013, I accidentally stumbled upon the fact that eating gluten causes DRASTIC reactions in me. I'd been sick and miserable for years, with my main complaints being nearly daily debilitating headaches and chronic fatigue, for both of which doctors found no explanation. The full list of my gluten symptoms could be paragraphs long (sometime soon I'll write them out in my full goal post!) Starting that very day - March 15, 2013 - I started eating gluten-free and have not intentionally 'cheated' once since then (there have been some accidental glutenings, which are easy to recognize by the swift vengeance wreaked on my body).

Over the course of one year, I've lost approximately 60 lbs, ~202+ lbs -> 142/143 (scale needs new batteries, don't have an exact weight yet.)
This corresponds to a clothing size change of: size L/XL shirts -> size S shirts; size 14+ (US) pants -> size 4/6 (US) pants
A change in BMI of: ~29.8 (edging the line on "obese"!) -> 21.1 (in the middle of the "healthy" category)
And qualitatively, from: looking like a significantly overweight teen -> looking like a normal-weight teen.

Even more importantly, my fitness has improved by leaps and bounds. Last spring I probably couldn't run a quarter of a mile and passionately hated every second of it. A friend hit me up in early April, asking if I wanted to do a TRIATHLON with her that summer. Against my better judgement, I said yes! I trained hard and July 2013, I COMPLETED that triathlon with her - in fifth place for my age group, no less. I also found out that I actually really enjoy running.

Go me!