General chatter Because life isn't just about dieting. Play games, jokes, or share what's new in your life!

Old 03-08-2014, 01:11 AM   #1  

S/C/G: 252/215/150

Height: 5'10

Default Student Loans and Adult Decisions

I pretty much spent the last 3.5 years working tirelessly to straighten out my career. This included next to no social life, stress, weight gain, 15 hour days, burnout and working on weekends. I earned an MS degree while working in my field and am currently in the practicum portion of my program. I finish in August and can take my professional exam in early October (hence everything will be done….finally). At this point I will be 28 years old and should earn around $50,000 per year before taxes (once I get a job, prospects are very good). When this happens, I will owe about $70,000 in student loans and an additional $8,000 on my car. I also religiously max out my roth IRA every year which costs $5,500.

Projected Monthly Bills
***$330 = Car payment (prepaid through Jan 2015, loan finishes March 2018) -2012 car I expect to last though 2024
***$90 = Car insurance
***$700 = 10 year repayment plan (25 year = $500)
***$460 = Roth IRA
***$1580 = Total Bills

***$3,800-$4,200 = Take Home Pay (estimated, monthly)