Exercise! Love it or hate it, let's motivate each other to just DO IT!

Old 02-19-2014, 06:51 AM   #1  

S/C/G: 217 /*/140

Height: 5'5"

Default Need advice on post work out soreness.

Hi all. I am sooo out of shape. I set a goal to do as many reps of sets of 5 lunges, squats, counter pushups that I could. I started out with 1 rep for all.

then the next week, I found I could do 2. I do them to exhaustion. But after 2 days of doing the 2 reps of 5, I was SO SORE. I could barely walk.

I am a night shift nurse on a psyche ward, I have to be able to move fast. Any ideas for getting the soreness out QUICK.
jendiet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2014, 07:03 AM   #2  
one choice at a time

S/C/G: 275/155/189/???

In my experience, gentle walking helps relieve post-workout soreness. If I've tried a new workout that hit some new spots and left them sore, I might hop on the treadmill for a very gentle (say, 3 mph) 15-20 minute walk the next day or two.

The best cure is time and continuing to do the workout. I do not think you will have uncomfortable soreness after you do the workout 2-3 times. After that, as you change up or add new routines, you might feel a little soreness as you hit new muscles, but nothing like that all-over experience of the very first workouts after a long time of not exercising at all.

That is my experience as a layperson who works out - I am sure others with more specialized knowledge will chime in.
carter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2014, 07:23 AM   #3  
banned

S/C/G: 80.2kg/66kg/60kg x2.2 for lb

Height: 165cm/5' 4.5"

http://www.medicinenet.com/script/ma...ticlekey=78966 Here's a link that gives a probably more convincing explanation than the first one i offered.

Last edited by Pattience; 02-19-2014 at 07:28 AM.
Pattience is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2014, 08:42 AM   #4  

S/C/G: 215/188/150

Height: 5'4"