General Diet Plans and Questions General diet questions, support for various diet plans other than those listed below.

Old 07-27-2013, 09:48 AM   #1  

S/C/G: 188/185/164

Height: 5'8"

Default Cheat Day!

Today is my 1st ever cheat day. Do any of you incorporate a cheat day into your weight loss plans? I am on a diet I have never tried before and although it's working really well for me in the short time of 9 days I've been on it, it recommends a cheat day once a week, and I've never been on a diet that had a cheat day before. If ever I cheated, I always felt guilty, which put me in danger of just jumping off the wagon. I love the concept of allowing myself a day to eat freely with no guilt. Knowing I had a cheat day has helped me to avoid pumpkin doughnuts (a favorite in my household) all week. Of course, the first thing I did this morning was grab a pumpkin doughnut and wow, was it sweet! I don't think I'll have any problem not having another one, although since it's cheat day, if I wanted to, I could! Supposedly, the recommendation for a cheat day is two-fold: 1) It helps you mentally/emotionally not to fall off the wagon because you know you don't have to completely cut out certain favorite foods. All you have to do is wait till cheat day to have them, and that's very do-able; 2) It keeps your body from thinking you're starving thereby stalling your metabolism. From what I've read, although you may gain a lb or two immediately after a cheat day, in the long run, your weight loss is steady and constant. I guess if I'll find out if that's true! So has anyone else tried a cheat day and how has it worked for you? Did you go on an all-out pig-out? Did you eat your favorite "forbidden" foods in moderation? Did it cause you to stick to the plan longer or to fall off the plan in a sort of sabotage of your diet? It seems to me planning for a cheat day with no guilt would be great to have for holidays and special occasions. Any feedback would be greatly appreciated!