Old 08-04-2013, 08:43 PM   #1  

S/C/G: 197/ticker/135

Height: 5'4"

Default Help! I (temporarily) can't cook!

So I'm just getting started (yet again) on my new healthy lifestyle. It's been a week. Yesterday I bought a bunch of nice, healthy groceries so I could make a bunch of lunches for the week and make it easy to stay on track. Then, while slicing an avocado, I cut the *%#* out of my finger. So now I have stitches, a splint, and orders not to use my finger or get it wet for more than a minute or two for a week.

As in no hand-washing dishes (and yes, I asked about this specifically). Which is a problem for a single woman with no dishwasher. Another problem is that it really hurts doing anything with my left hand even if it's just the uninsured fingers. So I'm thinking I'll have to try not to generate dirty dishes this week. I bought paper plates and plastic forks, etc., but I obviously did not buy paper pots and pans.

Any suggestions for one-handed, no-cooking meals? Should I just go buy a week's worth of lean cuisines? Cost-effective suggestions in particular are very welcome.
Secret Swan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2013, 09:12 PM   #2  
*Shakes fist at regain*

S/C/G: 150ish/ 114 / 109

Height: 5'

Ouch, sorry about your finger! Why must avocados be so dangerously delicious?

If I had to go w/o cooking, I'd subsist on rotisseries chicken, hard boiled eggs, fresh fruit & veg, frozen veg that can be steamed in the bag, sandwiches, yogurt, cottage cheese, and nuts. And chocolate.
crispin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2013, 10:02 PM   #3  

S/C/G: SW:394/310/180

Height: 5'6"

Ouch!

Frozen dinners really aren't such a terrible idea. There are tastier and more healthful options than ever before. Often a quick google search can yield decent coupons for most brands even for brands like Evol, Amy's Kitchen, Kashi, Atkins, and Marie Callender (watch the Marie Callender brand, some are very high calorie).