Old 07-28-2013, 03:07 PM   #1  

S/C/G: 265/246/125 (start IP @ 259)

Height: 5'4"

Default Adding salad to shakes?

so I despise lettuce and was thinking about adding my two daily salads to my shakes. I already add spinach to one of my shakes for a serving of veggies, but thought I could add the lettuce too. I have a vitamix so it mixes everything smooth. Veterans out there can you see any negatives to doing this? This is only my first week so I'm still learning. I've been choking down the salads and I've lost 7 pounds, but it's miserable to eat them. I see my coach on Tuesday so I will check with her as well. Thanks this forum is great
fitgurl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2013, 03:16 PM   #2  

S/C/G: 289/147.8/150

Height: 5'6"

You can if you want to.

However, lettuce is completely optional. It is unlimited, if you choose, but you don't have to have any if you don't feel like it.

Personally, I think it's good to keep you full and regular but it's your choice! Don't "choke it down" if you don't want to!
IdealProteinNewbie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2013, 03:34 PM   #3  

S/C/G: 190/168/125

Height: 5'0"

I know lettuce is like a "free" food what about spinach and cabbage?
AlaskanRN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2013, 03:36 PM   #4  

S/C/G: 234/231/180

Height: 5' 8"

Iceberg lettuce is "free" and you can have as much as you want. Adding it to your shake won't help you reach your 2 cups of veggies per meal. Stick with spinach (or even Kale) in your shakes. I do that for my lunch. Sometimes if I'm busy at lunch time I'll have my shake with spinach for breakfast and than a bar for lunch.
New Englander is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2013, 03:37 PM   #5  

S/C/G: 289/147.8/150

Height: 5'6"

Quote:
Originally Posted by AlaskanRN View Post
I know lettuce is like a "free" food what about spinach and cabbage?
Both are 'select' veggies and need to be counted towards your 4 cups (measured raw) per day.