Old 06-04-2013, 03:25 PM   #1  

Default An exercise conundrum

I've been on IP for a month now. The first month went great. I went from 336 to 309!

Here's my situation: In six weeks I am taking a group of teenagers from my church on a 50 mile hike over 6 days. I really need to lose another 20 - 30 pounds before this, but I also want to train for it...hiking, weights, cardio...stuff like that.

Then at the end of September I'm going on a 108 mile bike ride. Same story. I need to lose a bunch of weight before then, but I also need to train hard for it.

I don't see how I can have it both ways. How can I maintain the rapid weight loss of ideal protein but have the carbs/energy for the substantial amount of training I need to do?

My coach told me to just have an extra item on the days I'm going to be exercising, but I don't think she realizes just how hard I'm going to be exercising for these events. I'm a school teacher so I'll have plenty of time for long bike rides and difficult hikes.

Please help!
MattomicBomb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2013, 03:38 PM   #2  

S/C/G: 254/244/154

Height: 5'3

I think all you can do is all you can do.

If I were in your shoes, I'd focus on the training for the hike initially. No matter your weight, if you aren't strong enough and don't have the endurance for it, it won't matter if you lose the amount you want to lose beforehand or not. If you're strong and improving your cardio, the weight will move eventually.

I know that probably isn't the answer you want, but that's what I'd do. Good luck and have fun!!
rachieready is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2013, 03:58 PM   #3  

Height: 5'7"