Weight Loss Support Give and get support here!

Old 06-05-2013, 03:40 AM   #1  
I Can Change

S/C/G: 151/149.9/120

Height: 5'6"

Default Calories per day OR Net calories??

Hi I have a question as I'm new to counting calories. Do you think I should be aiming to eat around 1,500 calories TOTAL OR 1,500 NET calories after exercise? Any opinions??
Thanks!
tarabella is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2013, 06:04 AM   #2  

S/C/G: 195/145/145

Height: 5'11"

I've always gone for total, because I don't see exercise as separate from the rest of my day. What about walking to the grocery store or taking the garbage out? Should I add that to my calorie intake? We're always using calories, whether we exercise formally or not. Also, when I exercise I tend to need more sleep, so I'm not using as many calories during the extra sleep hours as I would while awake.

Bottom line, I would only "eat my exercise calories" if I were training very long and hard and really needed the extra fuel. That said, as long as you're in an overall calorie deficit you'll lose weight over time.

Freelance
freelancemomma is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2013, 06:13 AM   #3  

S/C/G: 163/128/125

Height: 5'5

Total. Most people do not accurately count their exercise. I would say nearly all actually...!
sacha is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2013, 09:30 AM   #4  

S/C/G: 215/188/150

Height: 5'4"

This is confusing for me too, because LoseIt automatically adds calories to my day when I exercise. I have an app called iSmoothRun and reviewers claim it to be extremely accurate since it uses GPS to calculate calories burned and it counts all the hills I go through too, which no pedometer has ever done before. It counts a higher calorie burn than any pedometer I've ever had which is frightenening in terms of eating.
Palestrina is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2013, 09:37 AM   #5  
dirty labour daughter

S/C/G: 318/301/155

Height: 5'10"