Old 01-03-2013, 11:32 AM   #1  

S/C/G: 396/351/160

Height: 5'7"

Default Tried 8 Hour Diet?

I'm new to 3FC (late December), and am currently just trying to get myself under control after having gained 30 pounds in December over a 2 week period. Yes, it's possible when one does just about everything wrong.

Right now I'm doing 2 slim fast meals and one sensible meal a day, but don't want to continue that for long. I just want to get my mind mentally back into eating correctly.

Saw a news story on 8 Hour Diet and downloaded the book. Basic concept is that our bodies are geared for "fasting" which means not eating for 16 hours out of the day. The news story said that you could eat anything you wanted during the 8 hour window, but in reading the book, it really does focus on eating correctly.

As always, there are great success stories, but I wondered if anyone in the group has actually tried this and can share results, challenges, pros/cons, etc. I'm still trying to figure out what will work for me and would appreciate the feedback.
betsy2013 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2013, 10:09 AM   #2  

Default Update

This approach may not be for everyone, but it's working for me. I've scheduled my 8 hours for noon to 8 PM. And while the diet plan says that you can have anything you want to eat during the 8 hour period, I basically get in two small meals and one snack. Also, again while the diet focuses on the "when you eat" component as opposed to the "what you eat" side of things, the requirement to eat out of the 8 power foods pretty much means that you'll be eating correctly.

The thing that seems to be working for me is that I'm focused on the "when" part instead of the "what" part. That seems to be important for me because I'm an emotional eater. Like I said, it may not work for everyone, but I'm encouraged at this point. Of course, I'm so new that we'll see how I feel a month from now!
Old 01-05-2013, 04:25 PM   #3  
Empress/Queen