Exercise! Love it or hate it, let's motivate each other to just DO IT!

Old 03-22-2013, 08:51 PM   #1  
Hopeful Member

S/C/G: 154/ticker/123

Height: 5'3"

Default Kettlebell recommendations?

I've never used them before but think it's time to give them a try. Unfortunately my gym has no classes that use them, so I want to get some, along with a DVD, to use at home.

Any suggestions on brands, weights, and DVD's? I used to do a lot of strength training, had stopped, and am just getting started again. I usually use 5-8 lb. weights for upper body work.

TIA!
natamars is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2013, 09:06 PM   #2  
Rachel

S/C/G: 295ish/278.4/145

Height: 5'5"

I'm currently obsessed with kettlebells. It's such a fun workout! I love Lauren Brooks's dvds, and her book . This woman knows what she is talking about.

As far as weight, I started out with a 15lb bell while I was learning the exercises and getting my form correct and then moved up. I think Lauren says women can start with 20 or 25 lbs actually. I just felt more comfortable starting out lighter than that. I haven't found a brand of kettlebell that I am really crazy about, but Reebok has been the most decent I can find in my area.
Keep Moving Forward is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2013, 12:14 AM   #3  

S/C/G: 303/ticker/169

Height: 5'5"

I've been loving the kettlebell also. I don't remember what brand I got from Amazon, but there's a picture of it on one of my first couple of blog posts. I also got a book, and there's a picture of that too.

Between using the techniques described in the book along with trolling YouTube for vids, I put together a 22 minute workout for myself. Boy was I SORE when I first started, but I'm starting to feel strong. I was surprised with the cardio that's required for the workout as well. I do interval training with it and it really gets my heart rate going!
Fit dad 2b is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2013, 08:54 AM   #4  

S/C/G: 163/128/125