General Diet Plans and Questions General diet questions, support for various diet plans other than those listed below.

Old 03-07-2013, 12:27 PM   #1  
Trying to be in the 160s

S/C/G: See my siggy ;)

Height: 5'8"

Default Salads

I am new to salads and am quite enjoying them for a healthy lunch.

The problem is I do not know which foods to put in a salad at the salad bar to keep it low in calories and which to avoid.

Help!
IanG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2013, 01:49 PM   #2  
Hi, I'm Danielle!

S/C/G: 208/Ticker/130

Height: 5'1

I am also interested in these answers, too...
Savemykissesx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2013, 01:55 PM   #3  
Trying for normal

S/C/G: 253/ticker/175

Height: 5'5"

If it's plain and raw and grows out of the ground - it's low cal.

(A couple of exceptions...avocado and beans and beets)

Things that are high calorie are cheese, bacon bits, croutons, probably the pasta salad - especially if it's covered in gooey sauce. Things that are really high in calories: dressing. Best avoided.

The plainer and fresher it is probably the fewer calories it has. Stuff that's been processed a fair bit or has a sauce on it...probably higher cal. Always exceptions, but you probably can't go too wrong with that.

What do you typically put on a salad? It might be easier to answer if we knew what you like.
AlmostMe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2013, 01:57 PM   #4  
F - Yeah, I'm doing this.

S/C/G: 297/*Ticker*/175

Height: 5'10"