Living Maintenance general maintenance topics and discussions

Old 02-20-2013, 12:17 PM   #1  
Workin' It

Default The Extraordinary Science of Addictive Junk Food - NYT 2/20/2013

The Extraordinary Science of Addictive Junk Food

I just read this article (all 14 pages of it) and it fascinated me.

It talks about the development of high sugar, high salt, sensory addictive junk foods. Looks at the marketing swing from parents to kids, and things like making snacks appear healthier which then results in us eating more of them.

I don't know it if is posted out in the main forum, but figured I'd put it up here for discussion.

As I work in the food industry it speaks to me on a lot of levels.
Shannon in ATL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2013, 01:35 PM   #2  

S/C/G: 204/114/120

Height: 5'

Thanks, Shannon, for posting that link. I read all 14 pages, also. It certainly is fascinating as you say. It gives one a lot to thnk about.
bargoo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2013, 03:34 PM   #3  
No description available.

Absolutely fascinating. I mean, they are things I always sort of thought I knew or assumed, but it is really impressive how these companies design their products.

To be perfectly clear, I know that each and every bite I have taken since I was like 2 years old was a choice of mine. But it is amazing at how unlevel the playing field is.

These companies have very very smart people---chemists, psychologists, etc.--working very very hard to do whatever they need to do to make a profit. That's the way our country works. I get it. But it really drives home a few points to me.

"Bet you can't eat just one." We all know the Lay's potato chip motto. And yet everything from the package to the size of the chip to the amount of oil and salt is designed to appeal to our instincts to get us to eat more than one. We have emotional and physical buttons that are being played by these companies so they can make a profit.

Yeah, that's life.