Dieting with Obstacles Those with special health concerns such as diabetes, fibromyalgia, pregnancy, etc can post here for extra support and help.

Old 09-29-2012, 09:42 AM   #1  

S/C/G: 260

Height: 5-8

Unhappy Severe lower back pain- exercise help?

I'm very new to this whole forum (This is my first post, in fact!) and I joined here to get the general weight loss support I've seen and because I saw this topic! I have an extreme lower back issue that makes it difficult for me to exercise. I have three bulging discs in my back, one pressing up against my spinal column, one against my sciatic nerve (right side) and another that presses against a nerve in my left leg that runs through my knee. As a result, even walking for more then about 10 minutes becomes crippling. I have to get a wheelchair when I go out to places like the mall, or other larger stores.

I've been on a 1200 or less calorie diet for 2 weeks, the first week I lost 7 pounds, but this week I've gained 2 of them back! I know I need to start exercising.

Can anyone here recommend ANY kind of exercise I might be able to do? I've tried an elliptical, but it too is very painful (even backwards, and very slowly) and I can't lift weights because it puts a strain on my back. Even gentle yoga hurts! It's pretty silly. General advice would be welcome too- since I live a very sedentary lifestyle.
Taylorkun is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2012, 12:14 PM   #2  
Becoming A Better Me