Weight and Resistance Training Boost weight loss, and look great!

Old 05-21-2012, 12:19 PM   #1  
Hang on little root!!

S/C/G: 164/146/132

Height: 5'5"

Unhappy muscle fatigue and prevention

Hello-

I'm relatively new to weight training. I amped up my calorie intake to nearly 1,440 calories (from 1100), and added weight lifting to my cardio regimen (making sure to consume more calories to make up for a calorie deficit), and I HAVE SEEN GREAT RESULTS.

However, I'm unsure of my form, and recruited my husband to help with my form (his body is very Zeus-like, hence... he knows his stuff). He always works out at a starved state, but I opted for some easily digestible carbs for my pre-workout nutrition (a couple tsp. of frozen, blended fruit cocktail).

THE PROBLEM: using correct form as he suggested resulted in major muscle fatigue, making it extremely difficult to complete my routine (post flyes).

here's my routine (Jamie Eason's 12-week program, day 1)
3 sets of 12 reps of each
-Wide pushups (I do girl pushups since I'm a wuss)
-Dumbbell Bench Press
-Flat Bench Cable Flyes (this exercise was done with 12 lb. weights instead of the cable, without reaching muscle failure; however, I could not do a single pushup thereafter-- I couldn't even hold up my own body weight)
-Narrow pushups (these turned into "small pulses," followed by attempting to lift my body off of the ground a few times)
-Standing Dumbbell Triceps Extension (last week I could do 20 lb. weights, this week, could only handle 15 lb. weights)
-Triceps Pushdown (45 lbs.)

MY QUESTION:

Is this okay??