Closed Thread

Old 08-14-2003, 07:44 PM   #1  

Default Feeling Sad Tonight

My oldest daughter is moving out tonight and I'm feeling a little down. I'm very excited for her, she's got a good job and is getting her own apartment, but I"m also a little sad. She's my oldest and my first to move out. I'm not very good at this "letting go" stuff, and I'm also not good about keeping my mouth shut. I keep giving her advice and trying to keep her from making mistakes, but of course I have to let her make her own mistakes.

Of course my first reaction to all of this is to eat. I'm feeling the urge to splurge all afternoon. I did eat an extra Pria bar this afternoon, so that's an extra 110 calories, but that's nothing compared to what my splurges used to be like!! I'm trying to stay busy and not snack or go crazy, but it could be a long night!!

Thanks for listening. You guys are great!!
Old 08-14-2003, 08:18 PM   #2  
Born Loser

S/C/G: 490/See Tracker/245

Sorry to here your feeling sad. Sounds like a good reason though. You can do it. Don't give in. You know you will feel so much better in the morning if you don't. I have a feeling this is what a lot of us have to get under control. The emotional eating is a killer. You can do it.
Old 08-14-2003, 09:59 PM   #3  

Oh mothergoose! I feel for you! I cannot even concieve the notion of one of my kids not being where i can make sure they are ok! My six year old tells me he is never moving away from me he is going to buy the house next door so he is close to me forever. I told him he will feel differently when he is older. Just a thought of something you could do to keep busy is write her a letter telling her how you feel and all the advice you would have like to give and then when she has children you could give her the letter.
Old 08-14-2003, 10:19 PM   #4  
if only she'd lose weight

S/C/G: 360/see ticker/180

Height: 5'7