Depression and Weight Issues Have you been diagnosed with depression, are possibly on depression medication, and find it affects your weight loss efforts? Post here for support!

Old 03-27-2012, 02:50 PM   #1  

S/C/G: 300/195/180

Height: 5'10

Default Taking Wellbutrin XL for Depression but it's a deadly cycle

This is my first time on the forums, and I am just looking to start a discussion about taking Wellbutrin XL for depression, at the same time battling weight issues. I've been battling weight issues for as far back as I can remember my existence on this planet (I'm 28), which gets foggy around 5 years old. I could not get a good handle on it until age 16, but even still I go up and down. My weight issues have always revolved around my depression, and vice-a-verse. I guess you could call it, weight-depression or depression-weight. I've gone to see therapists, counselors, psychologists, and general doctors. I could go on and on...

Does anyone have any thoughts about the above?
yourmusicmusedotcom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2012, 08:38 AM   #2  

Has anyone else been using anti-depressants, as well as battling with weight issues?
Old 03-28-2012, 08:52 AM   #3  

S/C/G: 218/207/155

Height: 5'7"

Ive taken wellbutrin in the past and successfully lost weight. Wellbutrin usually has an appetite supressing effect (which is why I was prescribed that before). My depression is a direct result of binge eating (BED). I binge -> I gain weight -> I get depressed....and it cycles like that. Ive been in therapy and started up again the end of last year. Like you, I've also been overweight my entire life and started diets in high school when my mom signed me up for Jenny Craig going into the 10th grade. From there its gone on to any and every diet/diet pill imaginable.