Exercise! Love it or hate it, let's motivate each other to just DO IT!

Old 03-17-2012, 06:36 PM   #1  
Up and at 'em...again!

S/C/G: 203.4/170.4/140.0

Height: 5'0"

Default No muscle soreness with strength training? o_O

I've been losing weight steadily for about 14 months now, and I've been exercising the whole way -- just walking, mind you, but about 4-5 miles five days a week, so not just strolling.

Anyway, about three weeks ago I bit the bullet and had the fitness coordinator at the Y where I work design a strength training program for me (I needed some things tweaked because I have early onset osteoarthritis and a neurological disorder.) So. After the first session, I had muscle soreness (especially in my upper thighs) for three or four days afterwards. Like, to the point where if I dropped something on the floor, I seriously considered leaving it there because it was so painful to squat and pick it up. *L* It was nothing I couldn't bear, mind you, but it definitely reminded me that I had worked those muscles.

But then....after that first workout....the muscle soreness just *went away*. And never came back. Like, okay, my muscles will be slightly sore for, like, an hour after my workout, but after that, *nothing*. And I guess what I'm wondering is: does this absence of soreness mean that my workout isn't doing anything? Does it mean I'm doing something wrong, I wonder? I don't know.

Or (holy crap, I just thought about this) could it be making a difference that on the day I did my first workout, I just did my weight training and then went home, whereas after that, every time I did my weight training, I would then go into the cardio room and do thirty or forty minutes of working out in there?