Body Image and Issues after Weight Loss Including discussions about excess skin and reconstructive surgery

Old 02-26-2012, 12:11 PM   #1  
Vex
There is no try.

S/C/G: 281/T/140

Height: 5'6"

Default I have no idea what to wear.

So I've lost 50lbs now and I have no idea what to wear. I posted a pic up there in the mini goals area and the comments I have were related to how baggy my shirt is. And man, I never realized how right they are until I saw it.

Unfortunately I have no clue how to dress nicely. You'd think at 42 I'd have an idea, but I've been wearing big baggy stuff for so long that I'm lost. I can do weekends and stuff with jeans and a tee, but I don't have much of a clue about anywhere else.

I'm a software developer so our office is laid back with a jeans dress code - but how do you dress that up without looking sloppy - which I think I do at this point. I also don't want to blow out the bank at this point as I plan on losing more.

Anyone have any good sites or advice about improving style after weight loss?
Vex is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2012, 02:05 PM   #2  

S/C/G: 204/114/120

Height: 5'

When I was losing I bought most of my clothes at Goodwill, Salvation Army or Consignment Shops.
Blazers look good with jeans. I bought a blazer at Savers for $4.00. All wool and it was brand new.

Last edited by bargoo; 02-26-2012 at 08:53 PM.
bargoo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2012, 08:42 PM   #3  
Shrinking Chick

S/C/G: 288/ticker/160

Height: 5'8"

An easy upgrade would be trouser jeans. I'm really into fitted cardigans lately, too. I just put them over a cheap scoopneck tshirt. I've bought the shirts at Old Navy and Penney's, and Penney's has cardigans on sale for $12 and tshirts for $5 til the end of the month.
Riddy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2012, 08:54 PM   #4  

Height: 5'5