Depression and Weight Issues Have you been diagnosed with depression, are possibly on depression medication, and find it affects your weight loss efforts? Post here for support!

Old 01-29-2012, 09:33 PM   #1  
Beyonce got NOTHIN on me

S/C/G: 180/ticker/127ish?

Height: 5'4.5"

Default Feeling sad when I can't afford to be depressed

I'm not sure why I decided to post this to a forum... I guess I just wanted to reach out for some understanding from others out there...

I'm bipolar and overweight, and my life is so full of things I'm expected to do (I'm currently a doctoral student doing research and I work as well). I want to lose the weight because I know it fuels the depression, and the depression fuels the weight gain, and it's a vicious cycle, but I feel so overwhelmed as it is, how can I take out the comfort food and still survive?

And the week ahead is a really full one, with no room for one of those depressed days where I don't get out of bed.

I dunno. Just looking for others who are in the same boat. My bf, who is also my best friend, is concerned when I get like this, but he doesn't understand it. He has always been fit and has never been depressed, so how could he?

Thanks for reading.
bodyTOObootylicious is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2012, 09:53 PM   #2  
Vortex

S/C/G: 330/see ticker/???

I know how you feel. Really. Look at my weight. I did a Ph.D. while working 40+ hrs/week, 10 years worth, and I've been in academia another 10 years. Life never gets any less busy. Breaking the cycle will never get any easier--so why not do it now?

Every day, every week, every year you tell yourself that you need the comfort food to get through things is another day, week, or year you won't get healthier.

Comfort food does not make you feel better for more than a few minutes. Exercise makes you feel better for hours. Getting enough sleep is essential to feeling good at any time. Light, healthy eating builds energy.