Old 01-25-2012, 10:48 PM   #1  
Re-started IP 01/16/12

S/C/G: 220/206/130

Height: 5'8"

Default Why do people try to sabotage us??

OK, I've only been restarted on IP for 9 days. I work as a medical caseworker so among my coworkers is a mixture of nurses, doctors and people with no medical background at all. Well a few people know that my rheumatologist put me on a diet based mainly on lean protein, and I have a few close friends there who are very supportive. Well apparently word has spread or something?? I was in the break room filling my water bottle the other day and one of the nurses said "Yeah, drink a lot of water to flush out all that protein!!! I'm serious!!!" she walked out before I could say anything. Then today the office bought pizza for everyone so I said I was going to eat my salad and veggies in the other break room so I wouldn't be tempted by the smell of the pizza. One of my friends said "cheese has protein! Can't you have the cheese pizza?" (I don't know about you but I get questions like this ALL the time, like people think anything that remotely has protein in it, I can eat!) I said nope, can't have it, too much fat. The nurse speaks up "Yeah, cheese does have a really high fat content." then next thing I know she pokes her head over my cubicle and says really loud "I DON'T KNOW HEATHER, THIS DIET SOUNDS REALLY ***SCARY***!!!!!" WTH is she talking about?? How does something "sound" scary when I haven't told you anything about it? I asked her "What's so 'scary' about eating lean protein and plenty of vegetables??" suddenly she changed her tone from serious to joking "I just think it's scary not to be able to eat cheese!!" So I said not to worry, I'd be able to enjoy cheese in a few months, but I'm not going to jeapordize my weight loss. I don't know what's up with this chick but it seems like she's trying to make me look like some kind of kook or something, doing some "dangerous" diet... she doesn't even know what diet I'm on other than that it