Food Talk And Fabulous Finds Recipes, Healthy Cooking, and General Food Topics

Old 12-14-2011, 01:59 PM   #1  
One with the Wind and Sky

S/C/G: 360/246/150

Height: 5' 8"

Smile Has anyone tried Yonanas?

I'm seriously not trying to spam the place with a commercial product, but OMG, have any of you ever tried Yonanas? It's a kitchen appliance that sort of grinds frozen fruit into a yummy, creamy texture similar to soft serve ice cream. Most of the recipes require frozen bananas as a base in order to provide that creamy texture, but I've found that frozen peaches work pretty well too. You can add berries, dates, grapes, melon, pineapple, whatever sounds good. I'm pretty new with this so I'm still experimenting. This morning I made some with bananas, peaches, and strawberries, and when it was done I stirred in some plain greek yogurt and walnuts. The best part is that your using all natural, nutritious whole foods with no need to add sugar for it to taste great.

I love my smoothies but this has been a great change of pace, it's almost like getting to eat guilt-free ice cream! I'm still watching my portions though.
Elladorine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2011, 02:06 PM   #2  

S/C/G: 133.4/123.2/115

If you take a frozen banana and put it into a food processor it does the same thing.
Munchy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2011, 05:07 PM   #3  

S/C/G: 244/232/160

Height: 5'6

I just saw this the other day for the first time. I was intrigued. But at the same time, like munchie said, you could do it at home in a food processor or magic bullet. But if you like it and it helps you, that is all that matters.
miatutu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2011, 05:24 PM   #4  
... and a piece of toast.

S/C/G: 170 >:(/152/135

Height: 5'2" <-- well, almost