Weight Loss Support Give and get support here!

Old 12-14-2011, 05:47 PM   #1  
one pound at a time

S/C/G: 222/in progress/115

Height: 5'3"

Default Burning more to lose faster?

I've been counting calories for 3 months now and have been losing weight as a result of keeping my calories at 1428 and going to the gym 3 times a week (2 days of running 3.1 miles + lifting and 1 visit of running 60 minutes straight).

a couple weeks ago i bought a bodymedia fit as an aid to find out approximately how much I am burning. It didn't really change my plan as i stuck to my 1428 calorie and usual workout plans but I have felt like being more active and have started jillian michaels ripped in 30/ dancing with my kinect on my off gym days.

I'm getting antsy to lose a little faster than 6 lbs a month which is what i've been averaging so far.

I do not want to cut my calories any more as I know I would not be able to stick to eating less and calculated that if i continue to burn more through exercise that I should theoretically get to about an 8 lb a month loss, which would be ideal.

is this true? could I burn more through exercise and expect a faster loss?
jayohwhy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2011, 06:33 PM   #2  

Theoretically, it's possible. In reality, though, it doesn't always work out that neatly. Some studies have shown that when we add more exercise, we inadvertently move less throughout the day---our body's way of compensating, I guess. Also, some people get hungrier when they exercise more, and if you're one of those people, it could be more difficult to stick to your calorie allotment.

However, since you have the BodyBugg & can see how much you're burning, you might be able to avoid the first problem. Also, you may not be the type of person who gets hungrier with more exercise, so perhaps that won't be a problem. It's worth giving it a shot. You have nothing to lose but weight
lin43 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2011, 08:33 PM   #3